Frames /sing

kvond

Going Dark

Hey, its been great. Heading to Thailand for a while, and in all likelihood this wonderful blog experiment is going dark. Its lived at least its first incarnation. Thank you for all the relationships I’ve developed over the brief time of my writing, those adversarial, and those inspirational (not mutually exclusive of each other). A profound social and intellectual experience. Thanks for the space in your lives and amid the aether, especially for my Spinoza and Optics study. If you find yourself thinking about and commenting upon any of my past posts I’ll be glad to continue the discussion if fruitful. Sorry that the Massumi reading did not develop, but perhaps it will be reborn in a different forum. Thank you so much for all. I feel that I know much better who I am, and what I think (and believe).

25 responses to “Going Dark

  1. northanger January 7, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Godspeed. I’ve immensely enjoyed reading your blog.

  2. Paul Bains January 7, 2010 at 5:11 am

    bon voyage!

  3. adr January 7, 2010 at 5:58 am

    Thanks to you Kevin, and take care 😉 !

  4. Corry Shores January 7, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Thanks for sharing your knowledge and inspiring new directions of thought. And I wish you the very best for your travels.

  5. pensum January 7, 2010 at 10:17 am

    take care, i’ve certainly enjoyed visiting and mulling over your posts, which gratefully only lead to more questions. so now i can’t help but turn to your beloved Spinoza for solace: “But perhaps I will treat these matters more clearly with you some other time, if life lasts.” (from his “last reply” to Tschirnhaus, 15 July 1676)
    cheers.

  6. pensum January 7, 2010 at 10:27 am

    ps. here’s a little something i just came across that you might want to read when you’ve finished packing.

  7. john doyle January 7, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I enjoyed our conversations, and I certainly learned some things from them. Thanks for pushing me.

  8. Tony January 8, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Thank you for sharing your ideas with us. I only discovered your blog a few months ago so I know I will enjoy digging into your older entries for months to come.

  9. Tom Sparks January 9, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    K – thanks for the mental stimulus. Your commentaries got me thinking and made me pursue ideas and thoughts I would never have pursued otherwise, I learned a lot.

    I look forward to hearing about your journeys in South East Asia. Take a camera.

    ..Tom

  10. Nicola Masciandaro January 9, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Good Work! Your posts will be missed. I look forward to the next incarnation.

  11. Eric Walston January 10, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    At the risk of sounding hackneyed, I wish you well in all your future endeavors. Hopefully this will not be a permanent parting of ways. Your posts and comments have been immensely beneficial.

  12. kvond January 11, 2010 at 12:56 am

    From Chiang Mai, Thailand…

    Thank you all for your warm wishes and good thoughts. Much valued and remembered.

    • Mark Crosby January 12, 2010 at 12:23 am

      Here’s another belated “Ping” for best wishes. Maybe some Spinozist Buddhism will ultimately flow?

      Musing on Shinzen Young’s suggestion that language alone is so inadequate to philosophy that diametrically opposed propositions can often be “talking about the same thing”! “The Buddhists say enlightenment is to realize there is no Atma, which is interpreted as self-as-thing”. Meanwhile, “Within a lot of Hinduism the very same experience is described as discovering the True Self in a way that implies it’s a thing – the Witness, the True Observer, Pure Consciousness, etc.”

      OOPs, maybe this a battle best left behind?

  13. John McCreery January 11, 2010 at 5:53 am

    Should you ever pass through Japan, give me a shout (jlm@wordworks.jp). We have a small guest room and futon if you’d like to visit our fair city (Yokohama).

    John

  14. anodyne lite January 12, 2010 at 2:28 am

    This is sad news, but I’ll try to use it as an opportunity to peruse the back catalogue.

    Have a wonderful trip. Hope to see you reappear in the future!

  15. Carl January 12, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Thanks for everything! You’ve been great to think with. Now Mikhail’s going to have to invent another persona to do all the cool things you did!

  16. Adrian January 19, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Kevin – I’m sorry to hear that the blog will be going dark, but it sounds as if you’re off on a new adventure. I wish you all the best with it. I’ve enjoyed your posts very much, and your comments and conversations on my blog (and others) as well. I look forward to hearing more from you at some point. Be well.

  17. Shahar Ozeri January 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    To the uninitiated, it would appear that ruthless unmasking finally did have some effect! Ha.

    Anyway, good luck Kevin. I’ve enjoyed conversing.

    –Shahar

  18. David January 23, 2010 at 7:20 am

    That’s sad! Just starting to read and enjoy your blog. Reincarnations are where the future lies, though. :o) Good journeys.

  19. Nick Srnicek January 27, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Cheers, Kevin. Best of luck in Thailand!

  20. dapurplespy February 5, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Hey, I enjoyed reading your stuff about Spinoza, Zizek and Massumi.

    I’m in Thailand as well — whoring and thinking…

    Drop me a mail if you wanna hook up for a philosophical beer in Bangers!

    http://www.BigDummyKenny.com

    Cheers!

    • kvond February 5, 2010 at 4:49 am

      Thanks for the kind words. I can’t say that whoring and/or drinking is much on the menu. Up in the North, where my wife is training (and fighting some) in Muay Thai (the purpose of our trip). Its pretty much 24hrs of training/eat/sleep, repeat.

      As always though appreciate the offer.

  21. Louise March 7, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Hope to hear from you again!

Leave a comment