Frames /sing

kvond

Comments upon Latour’s Flat Originality and Immanence

Ailsa, over at a musing space; a performance in progress comments upon my recent thoughts on Latour’s concept of Originality, The Flatness of Latour’s Concept of Origin and Holbein’s The Ambassadors. In “it’s not a case of “either or” but of “and, and” she finds that I haven’t fully satisfied on my my claim that Latour’s treatment of originals in some substantive way contradicts or at least is not accountable in his existentialist principle that existence precedes essence:

While I disagree with Kvond who appears to argue against this proposition with reference to art, yet his argument to my mind demonstrates exactly what Latour says. The minutae of detail, the pressure of the paint on the page, the texture of brushstrokes and the variability in paint pigmentation…are all ‘things’ preceding essence. Essence came in the aggrargation of such things in a time and place and viewed in a context, or so I understand Latour. But what then of other ‘things’?
I find myself comparing these arguments of authentic art to the stories I have heard when talking of the shift of phone counselling to text. And am also reminded of the historic stories captured on moving conversation to phones. But to stay with counselling for the moment, is its ‘essence’ lost when the medium changes? The logic from Latours argument, is that it cant be as essence is always preceded by existence.

Because she is applying Latour to counseling solutions (her blog says that she is currently reading Latour’s Reassembling the Social, and she is a teacher of communication skills at a Health Facility), she is particularly interested in how moving therapy processes to the telephone our to text, might or might not involve a change in essence.

The essence is in it’s existence, not an antecedent event, but in it’s being performed. Does the reproduction in another form lessen its value? Perhaps. The processes of translation from one medium to another may fail to capture the ‘things’ of importance , what then can be added or removed? Is it essential to counselling that it be ‘in the moment’ that it be synchronised not asynchronised? Far from becoming “sterile” counselling so reconstructed becomes more accessible. So where does the crime lie? I suggest it lies in the gap where the index for reality is misunderstood. Text counselling far from being barren or sterile is serving a purpose attested to by those who continue to make use of it.
It provides an option, the value of which is evident in its being used and in its ongoing development and ongoing translations.

In such a conclusion she seems to have found something of a resting point on my concept of a change in recording surface, as I describe the differences between a painting and its photograph, and there are signficant productive values to be watched here as translations of subjectivities occur across domains. In the comments section there we touch on the possibility that we are thinking of two different aspects of “essence”, but I also sense that in our valuations of originality and its copies, any interpretive value placed on an original source of replicating effects also must draw its weight form the marks of the forces that brought it into being.

A Blog of Immanence

Also this weekend I ran into an interesting thought stream provided by Adrian J. Ivakhiv who teaches at the Rubenstein School of Environment & Natural Resources at the U of Vermont. He describe’s the weblog’s mission in part as the following:

(1) To communicate about issues at the intersection of environmental, political, and cultural theory, especially at the interdisciplinary junctures forming in and around the fields of ecocriticism , green cultural studies, environmental communication, political ecology, and related areas (biosemiotics, geophilosophy, social nature, poststructuralist and liberation ecologies, zoontologies, animist liberation theologies — invent your own neologisms!).

(2) More specifically, to contribute to the development of a non-dualist understanding of nature/culture, mind/matter, structure/agency, and worldly relations in general. Dualisms aren’t inherently bad, but these have become stultifying; they contribute to the log-jam in which environmental thinking has been caught for too long. To this end, the blog is interested in philosophies of process, ontologies of immanence and becoming, and epistemologies of participation, relation, and dialogue – that is, ways of understanding and acting that take ideas and practices, bodies and minds, subjects and objects, perceptions and representations, agency and structure, to be fundamentally inseparable, creative, and always in motion. The blog will be a place where non-dual mind (/body, subject/object) meets non-dual world (nature/culture), or where rigpa meets anima.

As all these are positions that I have some affinity for, in particular as a Spinozist approach seems to embrace them, it is a webspace I will be watching. Recently there was some discussion on Stuart Kauffman’s new book (which dissappointed me to no end for how much I have loved his past books), and the potential of blogged philosophy as is being done by Levi, Shaviro and Graham, to name just a few. I have not searched the site heavily, but I wonder if how much, if at all Adrian follows Arne Næss’s Spinoza influenced Deep ecology.

4 responses to “Comments upon Latour’s Flat Originality and Immanence

  1. ai March 11, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Thanks for the nice mention, K.

    I wouldn’t call myself a deep ecologist, but I’ve certainly been influenced by my reading of Naess and others in that vein, and have taught them in my environmental thought/theory classes. I read Naess long before I read Spinoza or Deleuze or anyone like that, and I’ll admit that I didn’t really understand Naess’s Spinozism at the time (beyond a very basic nature=God kind of monism). Spinoza seemed a bit abstruse to me then, and Naess, too, seemed to be speaking a different philosophical language than I was used to, which was the phenomenological/hermeneutic one I had picked up from environmental philosopher Neil Evernden (who I had studied with, and who turned me on to Heidegger and Merleau-Ponty).

    That Spinoza-Naess connection, I see, is due for a revisit. Thanks for prompting it!

  2. kvond March 11, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Yes, the question of “philosophical language” is one that is often overlooked (its not just an issue of disagreements, but also of terminology, primary and secondary analogies, the very habit of how we frame a question). I am not familiar with Neil Evernden, so I would have to do some looking. And I have to say that I’ve had my problems with Heidegger, as any perusal of my last posts and my disagreements with Graham Harman will show. But I look forward to any Spinoza-Naess revivals you may be able to pull up onto your blog, as you come back into touch with that line of thinking…and of course anything else you creatively step towards.

    Cheers.

  3. ailsa March 13, 2009 at 3:30 am

    Hi Kvond, youve provoked my thinking and i cant let it go as I’ve got stuck. There’s a Latourian conundrum pointed to here of chicken and egg proportions and I cant get myself out of it, what’s your thinking?

    http://amusingspace.blogspot.com/2009/03/latourian-conundrum-please-help.html

    Thanks for your tiem, in anticipation, ailsa

  4. Pingback: immanence - between continental & environmental philosophy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

